Need help with RSMS?

​​​​​​New applications to certify positions for the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme are being accepted for the following regions in the State:

  • Gascoyne;
  • Great Southern;
  • Kimberley;
  • Mid West;
  • Peel;
  • Pilbara;
  • South West; and
  • Wheatbelt.

The guidelines for certification remain the same, as shown in the
checklist for a​ssessment​.

New applications for the Perth region remain suspended. Further information will be posted on the migration portal as it becomes available.

All applications received before suspension of the program on 13 March 2017 will be processed according to the RSMS guidelines in place at the time of application, including for the Perth region.

The Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme​ (RSMS) is a Department of Immigration and Border Protection​ (DIBP) program that allows skilled migrants to fill employment vacancies where there are no local Australian applicants available.

​Under RSMS, employers in regional Australia can nominate skilled migrants to fill a full time vacancy – available for at least two years – when there is a genuine need for a paid employee.

To nominate a skilled worker under the direct entry stream​, the employer must be assessed by an RSMS certifying body​.

Skilled Migration Western Australia (SMWA) is a certifying body and provides advice to the Department of Immigration and Border Protection on whether RSMS direct entry stream applications meet set requirements.

For more information on the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme and other entry streams, visit the Department of Immigration and Border Protection website​.

Start application for RSMS certification
​​​​​​​Current processing time (working days)28