WA Migration Services role

State nomination

For certain skilled visas, you must be nominated by a State or Territory. WA Migration Services provides Western Australian State nomination to eligible applicants for two visa subclasses:

  • Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190); and 

  • Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 491).

For more information on Western Australian State nomination, visit the State nomination section.


Regional certifying body

Under the Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 494) regional employers can nominate skilled migrants for a full time vacancy where they cannot source an appropriately skilled Australian worker. Applications for the employer sponsored visa stream must be assessed by a regional certifying body. The Department of Training and Workforce Development, through WA Migration Services, is a regional certifying body for all of Western Australia, except the Goldfields–Esperance region. Visit the Certification for regional visas page for further information.


Other visas

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Broadly speaking, migration in Australia is made up of three streams; humanitarian, family and skilled. The stream suitable for you depends on many factors including your age, occupation and employment status. To find out if you are eligible to apply for an Australian visa under one of these streams visit the Department of Home Affairs Visa Finder.
If you have a proven background in owning or managing a business or investments you may also be eligible to apply for business migration.


Skilled visas

Skilled visas are for eligible professionals or tradespersons and includes both temporary and permanent visas. The two main pathways are employer sponsored and independent or nominated.  

 Employer sponsored

Independent or nominated

Temporary migration

Temporary migration

 Provisional migration

Provisional migration

Permanent migration

Permanent migration